Runes are the bottom level building blocks of quests. You obtain runes by killing monsters. Occasionally when you kill a monster, instead of getting one of your improvements the monster will drop a rune. There are twenty-four runes, Fehu, Uruz, Thurisaz, Ansuz, Raido, Kenaz, Gebo, Wunjo, Hagalaz, Nauthiz, Isa, Jera, Eihwaz, Perth, Algiz, Sowilo, Tiwaz, Berkano, Ehwaz, Mannaz, Laguz, Ingwaz, Dagaz and Othila. Once you have collected enough runes you can start writing rune stones, but you must obtain the ability of Writing from the Witch.